Attlee 1947 and for the legislative supremacy of

Attlee described the Act ‘as not the abdication but the fulfilment of Britain’s Mission in India, a sign of the strength and stability of the British Commonwealth’.

1. The Act provided for the partition of India and the establishment of the two Dominions (India and Pakistan) from the appointed date viz. August 15, 1947 and for the legislative supremacy of these Dominions.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Pakistan was to comprise East Bengal, West Punjab, Sindh, Baluchistan, North West Frontier Province and the district of Sylhet in Assam.

2. The British Government gave up all powers and control over the affairs of the Domimion after August 15, and the Governor-General for each of the Dominion was to be appointed as a Constitutional Head. There was no sphere in which he could act against the wishes of the Ministers.

Similarly, the Provincial Governors were to act on the advice of their Ministers.

3. There were two separate Constituent Assemblies for the two Dominions which served as Central Legislatures, endowed with full Legislative Authority.

They were empowered to make the Constitution as well as the laws of their Dominions.

The Assembly would decide whether India would remain a member of the British Council.

4. The Princely States became independent and all the powers exercised by British Authority were terminated.

All treaties and agreements made by the British with reference to States would lapse from August 15, 1947.

They would be free to associate themselves with either the Dominion or to remain independent.

5. It was for the two Dominions to decide what relations they would have with the British Commonwealth and with each other,

6. The Plan ended with the declaration that the transfer of power would take place not in June 1948, but much earlier than that.